Spike Lee and Tyler Perry are among the directing nominees announced for this year’s NAACP Image Awards, which FOX will broadcast live from the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles on Feb. 12.

The civil rights organization on Tuesday announced its entertainment award nominations in three directing categories. In addition to Lee (“Miracle of St. Anna”) and Perry (“The Family That Preys”), the film directing nominees are Darnell Martin (“Cadillac Records”), Gina Prince Bythewood (“The Secret Life of Bees”) and Patrik Ian Polk (“Noah’s Arc: Jumping the Broom”).

In the TV comedy series category, the directing nominees are Ali LeRoi for the “Everybody Hates the Port Authority” episode of “Everybody Hates Chris”; Ken Whittingham for the “Seth Green Day” episode of “Entourage”; Kevin Sullivan for the “MILF Island” episode of “30 Rock”; Tracee Ellis Ross for the “What’s Black-A-Lackin” episode of “Girlfriends” and Victor Nelli, Jr. for the “Crush’d” episode of “Ugly Betty.”

Nominated for directing dramatic series episodes are Anthony Hemingway, “Heroes — Chapter Five: Angels and Monsters”; Eriq LaSalle, “Law & Order: SVU — PTSD,”; Ernest Dickerson, “Lincoln Heights — The Day Before Tomorrow”; Paris Barclay, “In Treatment — Alex-Week 8” and Seth Mann, “The Wire — The Dickensian Aspect.”

The NAACP also announced that artists Elizabeth Catlett-Mora, Jonathan Green and Sam Gilliam will be presented with its Key of Life Award at the ceremonies. Each artist has created a limited 100-print-edition lithograph, with a percentage of the proceeds donated to the NAACP, which is celebrating its 100th anniversary.

Also On The Urban Daily:
Trending on The Urban Daily